“Jesus Christ!! What the bloody bleep happened?? I was NOT supposed to screw up this time… Not when my career is on-line. I’m gonna set things right. Damn right I am!” I said to myself, looking towards my right. She was running as fast as me… “Maybe a bit slower”, said my egoistic mind. This narcissistic comment made me create a burst of speed, pushing a bit harder. I looked back over my shoulder and shouted “Come on Leah! You can do better than that! Hahaaa”. Immediately, the reply came. Clearly audible among the barks of the wolves which were chasing us (or rather, hunting us) “Fuck you, Rem!”. And without even thinking for a moment, I shouted back “Oh, tonight you will, honey. If we get out of this alive”.
I slowed down to her pace and we ran together, putting more and more obstacles between ourselves and the wolves, instead of a clear path. The wolves were almost on our heels when I spotted a thick enough tree which had fallen down, and had become a hurdle of sorts with enough space below for two people to slide under it. Suddenly, something clicked in my mind. I looked at her and asked “Are you thinking what I’m thinking?”. “Daggers, yes?” she asked me. “Good girl. Now, slide in three… Two…. One… NOW!”. We both slid down under the tree, and right when it passed over us, we drew our daggers in both of our hands from our ankle holsters. We both stood up,  putting and end to the sliding and turned around, and right behind us jumped two wolves, over the tree.
The words of our trainer came to my mind and I said “Duck…”. “… And push”, she completed my sentence as we both ducked to avoid the front paws of the predators and pushed the daggers into their chest, and blood came out of their bodies in spurts and drenched our arms. “Great!!”, said Leah. Well, she hated to be covered in blood. “It’s alright sweety. Now, the other two. Mind getting a bit more dirty?” I asked. “Not really, as long as you wash me up later”, she replied, winking at me. “Not the right time to discuss it. But sure. Whatever you want” I said. I could hear the barks at a distance. “Switch to knives” I suggested. I drew my throwing knife from my wrist holster, while she did the same thing. And right at the moment the wolves sprung upon us, we threw our knives right into the wolves’ heart, making them land with a thump on the forest floor.
“Well, that was fun. But it could have been avoided if you hadn’t fallen off the tree in the first place, dumbhead” she said, approaching me and then, gently kissed me for a brief second before walking away towards camp. “Hey! That wasn’t even one Mississippi long!” I shouted, running after her. “Keep that argument up and you lose your chance of washing me up”, came her nonchalant reply. I knew it was high time I shut up and followed her…